top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecaroline jae

The Sound of the Smiths by The Smiths


I think it's about time I post about The Smiths. I was recently talking with my dear friend about how I couldn't find any new stuff that I really liked, and all my favorite artists were on tour, meaning no new stuff. I mentioned how I could not stop playing The Smiths, unironically, and I was genuinely concerned for myself. When a band releases songs with titles like "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now," "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want", and "The Queen Is Dead", I began to think to myself, "Am I okay?". But the truth is, I really just like the music, and I tend to ignore the lyrics. However, whenever I get in a teenager-y mood and I just want to wallow, I often put this 23-song album on. The Smiths were a vital band to bringing British 80's to the States, along with some of my other favorite bands like The Clash, The Police and Echo and the Bunnymen. The band released only 4 full studio albums, due to the band's short lived life. Rolling Stone placed the 4 albums in the Top 100 Albums of All Time, and named them one of the most influential bands of all time.

Sometimes, as a teenager with lots of emotions, it is nice to listen to something that will allow my to fully immerse myself into everything in the most over-dramatic way possible.

My favorite songs include, "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now", "Ask", "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want", and "Asleep".

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page